Cumpston Research

The best products at the best prices!

Watson Cumpston death cert Trinity House Hull lloyds ship Voilier withernsea pier

CANADA description


The provinces and territories of Canada combine to make up the world's second-largest country by area. There are ten provinces and three territories. The major difference between a Canadian province and a territory is that provinces are jurisdictions that receive their power and authority directly from the Constitution Act, 1867, whereas territories derive their mandates and powers from the federal government. In modern Canadian constitutional theory, the provinces are considered to be co-sovereign divisions, and each province has its own "Crown" represented by the lieutenant-governor, whereas the territories are not sovereign, but simply parts of the federal realm, and have a commissioner.


The ten provinces are Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.


The three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.


Unlike the provinces, the territories of Canada have no inherent jurisdiction and have only those powers delegated to them by the federal government. They include all of mainland Canada north of latitude 60° north and west of Hudson Bay, as well as essentially all islands north of the Canadian mainland (from those in James Bay to the Canadian Arctic islands). The following table lists the territories in order of precedence (each province has precedence over all the territories, regardless of the date each territory was created).


Territory     Postal abbreviation Capital/ largest city Entered Confederation

Northwest Territories NT     Yellowknife                         July 15, 1870

Yukon                             YT     Whitehorse                         June 13, 1898

Nunavut                         NU     Iqaluit                                 April 1, 1999

Capital      Abbreviation    Largest city Entered Confederation


Ontario                   ON Toronto                         July 1, 1867

Quebec                   QC Quebec City                  July 1, 1867

Nova Scotia            NS Halifax                          July 1, 1867

New Brunswick       NB Fredericton                  July 1, 1867

Manitoba                MB Winnipeg                       July 15, 1870

British Columbia     BC       Victoria                         July 20, 1871

Prince Edward Island PE Charlottetown               July 1, 1873

Saskatchewan        SK Regina                            September 1, 1905

Alberta                  AB       Edmonton                       September 1, 1905

Newfoundland and Labrador NL St. John's         March 31, 1949


Prior to Confederation, Ontario and Quebec formed the Province of Canada.

British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island were separate colonies before joining Canada.


Manitoba was created simultaneously with the Northwest Territories.

Saskatchewan and Alberta were created out of land that had been part of the Northwest Territories.


Newfoundland was an independent Dominion within the British Commonwealth prior to joining Canada. British legislation transferred Labrador from Lower Canada to Newfoundland in 1809, but the location of the Labrador boundary was disputed until 1927. The official name of the province changed from Newfoundland to Newfoundland and Labrador by constitutional amendment on December 6, 2001.


With the exception of Fredericton, the provincial capitals are all either the largest or second-largest cities in their respective provinces (Fredericton is the third largest city in New Brunswick after Moncton and Saint John).


You can read more about the history of Canada at

A number of people from the UK emigrated to Canada and they have their own pages UNDER THEIR PROVINCE:


William & Edward CUMPSTON

Wales to Manitoba


William & Letissia CUMPSTON

Ontario ex Ireland


Catharine COMPSTON Alberta


Edward L COMPSTON. Montreal, Quebec





from Barton Hall Penrith Cumberland to Manitoba and his son